Call 01704 53 53 53

The 7 Stages of Frontotemporal Dementia


Frontotemporal dementia (FTD) is a progressive neurodegenerative disorder that affects the frontal and temporal lobes of the brain. These areas of the brain are responsible for controlling behaviour, personality, and language. FTD is a complex disease, and its progression can vary from person to person. However, there are generally seven stages of FTD that patients and their families can look out for.

Stage 1: Early Symptoms

In the early stages of FTD, patients may experience changes in their behaviour and personality. They may become more impulsive, lose their inhibitions, and exhibit inappropriate behaviour. They may also have trouble communicating and may experience difficulty with language.

Stage 2: Language Impairment

As FTD progresses, patients may experience more severe language impairment. They may have trouble finding the right words, forming sentences, and understanding language. They may also have difficulty with reading and writing.

Stage 3: Executive Function Impairment

At this stage, patients may experience impairment in their executive function. This can include difficulty with planning, organizing, and problem-solving. They may also have trouble with decision-making and may exhibit poor judgment.

Stage 4: Movement Disorders

In some cases, FTD can cause movement disorders such as tremors, stiffness, and difficulty with coordination. This stage can also include difficulty with swallowing and changes in appetite.

Stage 5: Severe Behavioral Changes

As FTD progresses, patients may exhibit more severe behavioural changes. They may become more aggressive, restless, and agitated. They may also experience hallucinations and delusions.

Stage 6: Severe Language Impairment

At this stage, patients may lose their ability to communicate entirely. They may be unable to speak or understand language.

Stage 7: End-Stage FTD

In the final stage of FTD, patients may be bedridden and require round-the-clock care. They may experience seizures, difficulty swallowing, and other complications.

Overall, the progression of FTD can be difficult to predict, and some patients may experience different symptoms or progress at different rates. However, understanding the general stages of FTD can help patients and their families prepare for the challenges ahead.

If you or a loved one is living with dementia, we’re here to help. Contact us today to learn more about our specialised care services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Dementia

5 Ways We Create a Sense of Community in Our Care Homes

5 Ways We Create a Sense of Community in Our Care Homes

In our care homes, creating a sense of community is essential for the well-being and happiness of our residents. A strong community fosters social connections, provides support, and creates a feeling of belonging. Here are some effective strategies which we use to cultivate a sense of community in our care homes: 1. Foster Meaningful Relationships

Elevating Care Home Dining with Delicious & Nutritious Food

Elevating Care Home Dining with Delicious & Nutritious Food

We are proud of our dining service and menus that are crafted with care and attention. When a resident joins us we prioritise discussing their likes and dislikes to ensure that our menu is tailored to their preferences and requirements. We understand that dining with family provides the perfect time to reflect, catch-up and spend

4 Reasons Why Reminiscence Therapy is Important for People with Dementia 

4 Reasons Why Reminiscence Therapy is Important for People with Dementia 

Reminiscence therapy is a powerful tool that can greatly benefit individuals with dementia who reside in our care homes. This therapeutic approach involves the use of past memories, experiences, and familiar stimuli to improve the well-being and quality of life for individuals with dementia. Here are four reasons why we’ve integrated reminiscence therapy in our

Skip to content